The Walls

First built in the Middle Ages, Villefranche-de-Conflent city walls were deeply transformed by Vauban during the 17th century. These walls are unique, because they are composed of two layered covered patrol path.

After the Treaty of the Pyrenees (1659), the medieval ramparts were covered by a vault and Vauban decided to add another level with a traditional roof made of slate.
Few medieval towers still exist, some of them being incorporated in the Vauban’s walls. Vauban adjusted the walls to the narrowness of the town and the proximity of the mountains.

The exceptional aspect of the walls of Villefranche-de-Conflent allowed its registration on the world heritage list of UNESCO (with 11 other sites fortified by Vauban, Réseau Vauban) in July 2008.

Permanent Exhibition
Vauban et la Frontière catalane
Vauban and the Catalan border
In French and in Catalan


The Shop:

The ramparts shop sells some items: books, postcards. Monnaie de Paris...

Opening Hours :

July-August: 10 am – 8 pm

June-September: 10am – 7 pm

April-May-October: 11am–6pm

February-March-November-December: 1pm-5pm

Closed in January except for group reservations.
Be careful: the last entrance is 1 hour before the closure.

All the year, guided tours on reservation for groups of 15 persons minimum. (Visit in French, Catala, Spanish, English)

Contact us for more information...

Prices :

Normal price: 4€50
Reduced price: 4€ (pass Inter-Sites, children above 10 years old...)
Free for children under 10 years old.
How to pay: cash, bank cheque, Chèques vacances, credit card.
Other information, access: We can lend a baby carrier for babies between 3kg to 9kg.

Access Map:



Phone number: + 33
Address: Entrée des Remparts 2 rue Saint Jean 66500 Villefranche-de-Conflent FRANCE
You can join us in our Facebook page:
Réseau des Sites majeurs de Vauban :
Les plus Beaux Villages de France :

A blacksmith's tilt hammer in the Queen's Bastion

Crédits photos : Fanny Pla